Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year Ballot

In the interests of full disclosure, I'm posting my ballot for the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, as sponsored by the Football Writers Association of America.  And yes, this is not a misprint, or a joke:
  1. Gary Pinkel, Missouri
  2. David Cutcliffe, Duke
  3. Art Briles, Baylor
  4. Gus Malzahn, Auburn
  5. Jimbo Fisher, Florida State
  6. Mark Dantonio, Michigan State
  7. David Shaw, Stanford
  8. George O'Leary, Central Florida
Why Pinkel? No, I'm not trolling AJ the Huskerh8er. But let's be honest. Nobody, other than the most die-hard black and gold Tiger fan thought Missouri was going to play in Atlanta. Well, maybe, just maybe, if everything goes perfectly, maybe the Chick-fil-A Bowl on New Years Eve. 

They made it to the effin' SEC title game.  Yeah, Missouri.  Heck, even SB Nation's own Mizzou guy, Bill Connelly was hoping for a top 20 team, but predicting a 7 win team. And fearing that Pinkel's seat was going to smolder this season.

Cutcliffe took Duke to the ACC title game.  Yes, Duke.  Granted, they got blasted by Florida State, but still...it's Duke.  Art Briles would win a coach of the decade for making Baylor relevant, but I'm not so sure they just didn't emerge from a rather weak Big XII. 

No comments: